Showing posts with label Face Off. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Face Off. Show all posts

Thursday, April 16, 2015

A season finale and a series finale - waving good-bye to Raylan and Boyd... and even Four Kidney Dewey

Last night we watched two finales - Face Off and Justified.

This is our second season with Face Off, and we like it pretty well. It's interesting to watch characters come to life in the hands of some pretty talented people. I'm sure some of these people will end up working in the industry, and we'll see their names in movie credits.

****SPOILERS**** Last night they were down to three artists - Emily, Darla, and Logan. I figured the real battle would be between Emily and Darla, and it was.


For the finale, they brought back all the eliminated contestants and divided them among the final three. The theme was teams in films, such as Guardians of the Galaxy. Each finalist received a genre, and they had to create four characters. Then they drew words from a board and had to make a title.

Logan got SciFi, and his film was The Fortress. His characters were similar to ones perhaps found on the Island of Dr Moreau, mutant animals with intelligence. He had some good aspects to his characters but his were the least interesting of the three finalists.













Emily got Post Apocalyptic and her film was titled Paradise Reckoning. Her characters were mutated after the apocalypse and she did rather well with them.



Finally, Darla got Fantasy, and her film was The Spirits of Eden, and involved four elementals.


I became aware of Darla's work in the last few weeks of the competition, as she began to shine. She does very beautiful, very detailed work. And I was rooting for her last night, although I think Emily is talented too.

Then the moment of truth came, and Darla won!


Congrats to Darla and everyone for a great season! I'm looking forward to the new season, which comes out in July. And btw, just for the record, my favorite judge is Glenn Hettrick - I'd love to have a conversation with him!

And now on to....

    to be continued

Sunday, August 3, 2014

Cutthroat Kitchen, Food Network Star, Master Chef and more

Cutthroat Kitchen is now in its second season, and it's going like gangbusters. For those who might not know
what this is, this is Food Network's own Alton Brown as an evil host who starts out with four chefs who are trying to best one another, through various nefarious means, and emerge victorious. Each contestant is given $25k at the beginning of the show, and this is what they use for the auctions in each round. First Alton announces what dish he expects them to cook, then he gives them 60 seconds to shop for ingredients from his pantry. If, at the end of that time, someone is caught in the pantry, there is a penalty to be exacted. I've only seen that happen once.

Then the fun begins, as the cheftestants bid on the sabotages that Alton introduces, in order to burden their fellow chefs with them. One of the most infamous sabotages is the tiny kitchen. Another is to have two chefs chained together. Or use strange items as tools. Or strange heat sources. When it comes time for judging, a guest judge arrives, having no knowledge of the sabotages used and not caring, and tastes the food. One chef is eliminated in each round. The regular judges are Simon Majundar (whom I refer to as Simon Majumjum lol), Jet Tila, and Antonia Lofaso. Once, Geoffrey Zakarian was a guest judge, and you can imagine how thrilled I was that night!

This is a really enjoyable show (and no, Alton isn't that mean, it's an act. Seriously?) One of my favorite memories involves a chef that was on Food Network Star and lost (and I didn't like her on that). She was a contestant on CK, and had a slight altercation with a blender. You can see it in the opening credits lol

Food Network Star is entering its last couple of weeks, and we are down to the last four - Lenny, Luca,
Nicole and Sarah. At the beginning of the season, I had two favorites - Luca and Lenny. But Luca was eliminated in the second week, for not looking at the camera, so I set my sights on Lenny. After winning in the last chance kitchen, Luca came back, but I'm still going with Lenny. Sarah was rooting for Loreal, the Butcher Babe, but she was eliminated, so now she's rooting for Luca. Should be interesting, although I think Lenny has pretty well outshown everyone else most of the time. When he's good, he's very good. He has charisma in spades, and I think he'll do well with his own show. I'd certainly watch it.

Master Chef is almost down to ten contestants now, and I honestly can't say I have a favorite. This is not really their best season yet. There is one person I'd love to see eliminated, and I'm sure she will be, after they take advantage of the bitch-factor she projects. Her name is Courtney, and she is just obnoxious. I like Leslie, the guy who's about my age from Malibu, but I'm not sure he has what it takes to win. I like Jamie, who is quiet and shy, but she needs to step forward and shine more. She has time, though. At this point last season, Luca hadn't begun to really shine,  but the last half of the season saw him do just that. I like Big Willie too. It's just not a very exciting season. Side note; Graham looks like he's lost a bit of weight, good for him!

Hell's Kitchen ended its season recently, but we didn't even bother to watch the finale, so disgusted with their choices of who was to compete - Scott and Jason. What a crock. Rochelle was better than either of them and should never have been eliminated. A disappointing season.

On the other hand, Hotel Hell is back, and Gordon Ramsey is visiting some very disgusting hotels that he has to work miracles with. Similar to what Robert Irvine does with restaurants. The difference is Gordon isn't hampered by a $10k budget, obviously. He has some very generous sponsors, which makes sprucing up his hotels much easier. $10k wouldn't go very far, but Robert does amazing things on a small budget. I look forward to an interesting season of Hotel Hell. Apparently, there will be no more Kitchen Nightmares. Can't blame the man, he has a lot going on.





Hell on Wheels starts again tonight, can't wait! We started watching Face Off this season. I'd been told by a
few people that I should watch it, I'd like it, and they were right! Make-up artists compete for a major cash prize, creating make-up and effects to specifications. We've seen two episodes and are impressed. One of the contestants is from St. Louis, so go Drew! Next episode has to do with aliens, should be fun!



Well, all for now, gotta get in some writing before it's Svengoolie and ice cream time! Tonight he's showing Son of Dracula! I'm sure it's a real stinker lol

Next time I hope to talk about Ray Donovan, Masters of Sex, Halt and Catch Fire, The Kitchen and more!

Later!